Slow Cooker “Baked” Beans

Being New Englanders, we love baked beans.  Unfortunately, everyone I know uses molasses in their baked beans and that makes my daughter sick very quickly.  Since I knew that originally baked beans were made with maple syrup by the local Native Americans, I figured I could come up with a recipe that used that as my sweetener and would satisfy our desire to return this staple to our diet.  Here you have the results of my efforts and, if I do say so myself, they are pretty good.  I hope you enjoy!

 

Slow Cooker “Baked” Beans

Starting the night before you want to eat the beans:

Take 3 to 4 slices of bacon and cut them into small pieces

Line the bottom of the slow cooker with the diced bacon

Sprinkle the following on top of the bacon:

          2 Tbsp dried chopped onion

          1 ½ tsp dry mustard

          1 tsp fine sea salt

          1/8 tsp ground black pepper

Add 3 cups dry Yellow Eye beans (or other beans of choice) to the slow cooker

Pour 3 cups water over the beans

Combine 1 cup real maple syrup with 3 more cups water

Add this mixture to the slow cooker

Turn slow cooker to high and bring it to a boil

Reduce heat to low

In the morning, stir the beans well one time, cover and continue to cook on low until lunch or supper

Serve with hot dogs (I use Hebrew National because they do not have any corn), coleslaw and biscuits

Leave a Reply

