New and Improved Pancakes

Since ditching the grains, I have not been exactly thrilled with any of the pancakes I have made.  My family, being the troopers they are, said they were fine – but I think they were just happy to have something to cover in syrup…

Anyway, I’m happy to say that I finally have a pancake recipe that meets all my requirements for good pancakes.  They are light, fluffy, and brown nicely.  I hope you enjoy them as much as we do.

 

Buckwheat / Almond Pancakes

184 g Buckwheat / Almond Flour

1/2 Tbsp cream of tartar

3/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp plain salt

1 cup milk

3 Tbsp canola oil

2 eggs, separated

 

Combine dry ingredients in a medium mixing bowl.  Combine milk, oil, and egg yolks then stir into the dry ingredients with a whisk.

Heat a griddle to 350 deg F.

Whip the egg whites until they are stiff and stir into the batter.

Pour batter onto hot, lightly oiled griddle.  Cook for 2-3 min or until edges start to set.  Flip and cook additional 2-3 min.  Remove and enjoy with real maple syrup, chia jam, or honey.

For waffles: Add 1/4 tsp xanthan gum to dry ingredients and double the oil.

Leave a Reply

