Fantastic Brownies

In my pre-grain-free days, I could never come up with a good brownie recipe and it always bugged me.  I got so discouraged that I quit trying.  Back at Christmas time this year I needed a dessert that could travel well, so I thought I’d go back and try brownies one more time.  It couldn’t be worse than the brownies I was making with wheat flour, so why not?  Well, wasn’t I surprised when they were absolutely fantastic!!  A few tweaks and the recipe below is the final result.  A little disclaimer, these brownies are not technically grain-free due to the sugar in the chocolate chips, but they are dairy-free if you use dairy-free chocolate.  I hope you enjoy!

 

Fantastic Brownies

 

6 Tbsp coconut oil – melted

1 cup beet sugar

1 tsp vanilla

2 eggs

91 g Buckwheat/Almond Flour Mix

¼ cup natural unsweetened cocoa

½ tsp xanthan gum

¼ tsp cream of tartar

1/8 tsp baking soda

1/8 tsp plain salt

¼ cup mini chocolate chips

 

Combine coconut oil and sugar in mixing bowl, add egg and vanilla.  Combine dry ingredients and add to mixing bowl and mix well.  Fold in chocolate chips.  Lightly grease a metal 8×8 pan and dust with buckwheat flour.  Spread batter into pan – it is very stiff.  Bake at 350 deg F for 30 minutes or until set.

For Brownie Bites – grease and flour mini-cupcake pan and bake for 17 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

